My Dear Grandfather

I still can’t process the fact that you’re gone forever. I still can’t believe that I’ll see you again, never.

I don’t want to surrender to that fact, 

And I hate that the last time I saw you,

was three months ago. 

I never got a chance to say goodbye,

Or to even tell you how much I love you.
You still didn’t see me graduate and become the doctor you’ve always wished to see me be. 

You still didn’t see me get married to someone like you, just like I’ve always dreamt and you know.

You still didn’t carry my children;

love them with all your heart,

Take care of them,

Play with them,

Just like you used to do with me. 

But you will be in my heart in each and every one of those moments,

And with all my heart I hope that you’ll be watching me happily,

Along with all the ones you love,

And the creatures you belong with,

Angels. 
I know there will never be anyone to replace you,

Not in my life,

Not in my heart,

Not in this world. 

May your soul rest in peace,

May in heaven you now be,

But in my heart you always stay.
I once heard that stars are loved ones who left and are now watching over us.

Due to the too much scientific background I have I never bought that. 

Today when I was walking home crying I saw a star, 

Just one single star in the entire night sky,

Watching over me all the way,

And I believed it was you,

And for a moment I smiled. 
I hope I make you happy and proud like I always did. 

I hope I don’t let you down after all the support and encouragement you’ve always given me.

I hope you’re now happily watching me.

I hope to see you again one day,

But this time not as a star,

My dear grandfather. 

2 thoughts on “My Dear Grandfather

Leave a comment