Happy New Year?

I think many people would agree when I say that 2016 was one horrible year and we’ve seen enough comics and memes portraying this fact. At the last day of each year, I make a list of accomplishments before the new year’s resolutions, and I thought that since this year went so badly, I wouldn’t be able to find any, but I did.
My biggest accomplishment was actually the beginning of a dream come true. I started up and launched my very own business, Persona, who will not only be an online magazine, but will also be a platform for talent development and exposure, and this is just the beginning. I’ve seen it grow and progress and become an accomplishment I will always be proud of and that will always be a huge part of me and something that defines me.  
It was the reason I got to witness the best day of my life so far, where we held that open mic event, Persona Speaks, and it was a huge success, better than anything we’ve ever imagined. Persona was also the reason I went to one of the biggest entrepreneurial events, RiseUp Summit, and I met a lot of amazing inspiring people and learned so much. But that was not it.  

Not only did I get to meet one of my favourite people on the planet, The British Ambassador John Casson, but I also spoke to him and took a photo with him and that was the highlight of my year! So, apparently I will never be able to totally hate 2016 and throw it behind my back. 
My other accomplishments would be managing to balance Persona, studying dentistry, and working first as an English instructor, and recently as a Science teacher. I also started taking a digital marketing diploma and I’m applying for a finance one when I’m done. 
Other things happened that were not accomplishments but were still a source of happiness and they range from crossing parasailing off my bucket list and getting a cat, Phoebe, that I love more than most humans. 
So, I guess 2016 not just only bought with it a couple of great accomplishments, but also made me realize that I’m way more tougher than I think I am, that I really am a strong independent woman and that if I can go through such a terrible year and accomplish so much on my own despite all that, then I really can be whatever I want, I really can do anything I set my mind to and I really can do it all on my own and that I really need no one. And that is a very comforting and relieving and empowering realization to come to. 
I have a feeling 2017 will be my year (probably just because I’ll graduate) and even if it’s not, I’ll find a way to make it count. 
Happy New Year everyone and I hope 2017 is kinder to you than that crappy year we’ve just been through. 

Leave a comment